The Queen’s magic recipe

Sarah, a fellow blogger and talented chef, wrote this comment on Covetotop’s last post: “The bean dish sounds delicious. Wish I had a recipe for it.”

Certainly, that was a daunting question for a guy like Covetotop, who barely knows how to boil an egg. But kind readers always deserve kind responses, even if those responses mean taking serious risks and dealing with phantoms.

I accepted the challenge and went back to La Granja in search of the mysterious “Judiones de La Granja” recipe.

If you are afraid of phantoms, don’t read this story.

If you are brave and curious, come with me to the Royal Gardens of La Granja and let’s cross its fence together …

When I arrived at La Granja village nobody was on the streets.

“They must be all working” –I guessed – “How can then I get the Judiones’ recipe?”

Then I heard a deep and strange voice by “Calle del Rey” (King’s Street) who said:

– Go to the dark door behind me and you’ll know how to get that recipe.

At first, I thought somebody was joking. But there was nobody around, except a lion statue …

“Lion statues don’t speak. I think my morning coffee was too strong today” –I thought. Nevertheless, I was curious and went to the dark door behind the lion statue.

Once there, I found a terrifying face shadow who told me with an ultra-deep voice …

I panicked. I flew away and ran into another lion, who spoke to me …

And I went to the Royal Gardens as fast as I could … and I got the recipe ingredients one after another …

“… 1 tablespoon flour and salt” –I repeated almost dismayed –So, I have got the recipe ingredients. And now what?

A face in a vase answered my question …

I said “thank you very much, Mr. Vase” and walked towards the Riofrío Palace, which is not very far away from La Granja.

When I arrived at the Riofrío forest, I asked a fawn if he knew if the Queen was at the Riofrío Palace.

Certainly, there was a car by the Palace, but it was not the Rolls Royce Silver Ghost I was expecting to find. It was a micro-utilitarian …

Riofrío Palace

I knocked the Palace’s door. A phantom servant opened the door and talked to me:

– Welcome Covetotop. The Queen is waiting for you in the royal kitchen. But remember: no photos allowed within the Palace.

– No problem. No photos. Is the king at home too? I did not see the Rolls Royce …

– Due to the financial crisis, the King has been forced to give the Rolls Royce to a German Bank as a partial payment of who knows what stupid investment. Now the Royal car is the one you saw out there.

– Well, it is cute and very easy to park.

– Yes it is.

In the Royal Kitchen I met both the King and the Queen. They were very kind and sympathetic phantoms from the 18th century and I felt very relaxed in their royal company.

They knew why I was visiting them. And the Queen explained to me the magic recipe of the “Judiones de La Granja”. I took note as fast as I could, and I translated it into English as well as I could. Accuracy is not guaranteed, but, more or less, if you want to prepare this magic dish, follow these Royal Instructions:

Put the beans to soak in water the night before.

Drain the beans, place them in a pan covered with cold water and put it on the heat.

Add a bay leaf and let it boil. Then add a little cold water and, when it boils again, add the ear, meat and sausage (“chorizo”).

Cover and let simmer the whole thing for three hours until it seems that the beans are very tender, but not falling apart.

Meanwhile peel and chop the onion finely and then fry it on low heat until it is soft and translucent.

Mash the garlic, parsley and a little salt in a mortar, and keep this apart. Add paprika and flour to the fried onions and stir (never with spoon or skimmer: take the pot by the handles and stir the whole thing)

Then add the “sofrito” (the fried onions etc) to the beans.

Mix and crush five boiled “judiones” with the garlic.

Pour the paste into the stew, cook for 15 minutes on low heat and add salt if necessary.

Take the meat, ear and chorizo ​​from the pan and cut them in regular pieces and take them back to the stew.

Remember, Covetotop: Judiones de La Granja are always served very hot

I had a great time in the Riofrío Palace. And the Royal Dish was delicious …

judiones de La Granja

About Covetotop

A Mediterranean blogger
This entry was posted in Restaurants & local food, Towns & Villages and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Queen’s magic recipe

  1. Talking statues are entirely believable. But talking deer? Great post. glad and proud to be the first to “Like” it. Loved it, really. Keep up the good work. – Arran.

  2. Con mucho, la forma más creativa de presentar una receta que he visto!

  3. Sarah says:

    Oh my goodness! What a fun and creative way to present a recipe. I love it! I had no idea you’d go through all this work to get it for me!
    Thank you so much, Covetotop! Can’t wait to try it.. 😀

    • Covetotop says:

      It was my pleasure, Sarah! I hope it works, but remember: I didn’t test this recipe. I just translated the Queen’s words… 🙂

  4. Whan an entirely enjoyable trip – well done! 🙂

  5. Now….get to work writing your own cookery book. In that magnificent manner (talking animals, …vases…….. but I always knew they could speak!! I’m not joking!) you’re sure to have a hit. In an otherwise boring day, this post gave me a good laugh. And, there’s a lot to be said for that nifty car! Great post. Now…. where did I put those beans………?

    • Covetotop says:

      Of course they all can speak! We just have to listen with our soul. Thank you so much for your comment (and take care with those jumbo beans) 😉

  6. rodalena says:

    This is how all recipes should be written. I loved it,

  7. Hi, how do you add the little bubble captions to the photos, is it easy? I could have fun with that on my blog.

    • Covetotop says:

      It’s easy if you work with a Mac. Its photo-editing soft is great. With good software and a little patience you can get great results on PCs. But the best solution of them all is finding real speaking-phantoms, as I did in this post 🙂

  8. I was looking for a judiones recipe and found your charming and very unique post. Thank you! Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

