Europe viewed from my folding bicycle (part II): Austria, Switzerland, Belgium …

Europe is not as big as you think. If you drive your car a little absent-minded, you can easily cross two or three different countries in a row without even noticing it.

Well, perhaps I’m exaggerating a little, but, anyway, you should drive carefully in Europe.

After this stupid preamble, I’d rather continue here with the second and final part of Covetotop’s universally renowned series “Europe viewed from my folding bicycle“.

All right. Let’s go to Austria

Streets in Austria are very interesting; some of them display a huge array of information. It’s O.K, although so many signs and wonders could be a little confusing for curious cyclists …

Salzburg

Salzburg

Moreover, it’s extremely dangerous for classical music lovers to ride folding bicycles in Austria. They can lose concentration very easily.

Salzburg

Salzburg

Austrians are very friendly people (blurred pic below, I’m sorry, but I cannot ride my folding bicycle, hold my umbrella and hold my camera steady enough, all at the same time, when it’s raining)

Wachau

Wachau

By the Danube river you always find tranquil corners to rest for a while …

Dürnstein

Dürnstein

Switzerland is a lovely mix of lakes, mountains and cheese. My folding bicycle and me love Switzerland.

Maggiore Lake

Maggiore Lake

Time seems frozen in the past …

Ascona

Ascona

This is my Brompton folded in “rest position”:

Lugano

Lugano

When I’m hungry I fold my bicycle and visit a local “macelleria” …

Lugano

Lugano

After lunch, I fold myself in half and take a brief “siesta” wherever I find an adequate and quiet corner …

Lugano Lake

Lugano Lake

Knowing the art of riding with an umbrella in your hand is a must in Switzerland.

Gstaad

Gstaad

Suddenly I found a castle …

Thun

Thun

Belgium’s territory is mainly flat. Hence, its soil is ideally suited for folding bicycles. The only problem you may encounter here is its sky: it is ideally suited for umbrellas.

Ghent

Ghent

Art in Belgium is outstanding: van Eyck, van der Weyden, Brueghel, Rubens, van Dyck, Magritte … Bier is delicious in Belgium, and chocolate too. Hence, I’d recommend forgetting your bicycle and visit Belgium either by foot …

Brussels

Brussels

… or by boat …

Bruges

Bruges

France is big and beautiful …

Saint Remy de Provence

Saint Remy de Provence

Aix-en-Provence

Aix-en-Provence

Toulouse

Toulouse

Southern France is very close to Covetotop’s headquarters and the weather is fine most of the time; consequently I’ll post more about this charming part of the world any other day.

Spain is big and beautiful too. But taking into account that this blog regularly deals with Spain, I put an end to this irregular post exactly here.

Bye!

Spain, my bicycle and the Mediterranean sea

Spain, my bicycle and the Mediterranean sea

About Covetotop

A Mediterranean blogger
This entry was posted in Towns & Villages and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Europe viewed from my folding bicycle (part II): Austria, Switzerland, Belgium …

  1. Where in Switzerland were you? I am planning a trip to France in June and one of my stops will be St. Julien (where I spent the first 6 yrs of my life) near the Geneva border. Where do you recommend near the border (of France and Switzerland)? Also I want to stop in a town in the south of France where there are old stone buildings and those magnificent lavender fields. Which town would be the best choice for that?

    • Covetotop says:

      Thank you for your comment, Sophia. I’m afraid I don’t cross that border (of France and Switzerland) very often; consequently my advice about that specific area is not that of an “expert”, but of a casual “vagabond”. In any case, don’t worry: 
I’ll try to provide you with my “vagabondish” advice about your questions soon. Stay tuned … 😉

  2. Sarah says:

    Your pictures almost make me cry I want to go back so badly! I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not…I might have to quit following your blog. 🙂 Just kidding! I really enjoy keeping up with your lovely travels. It’s the next best thing to seeing the places myself, so thank you!

  3. Tyran Grillo says:

    My wife and I were just in Salzburg for the first time last month! It made me nostalgic to look at your pictures. Did you eat at Stiftskeller St. Peter?

    • Covetotop says:

      No; I ate at Alt Salzburg (Bürgerspitalgasse 2) and in some cafés. Next time I’ll visit the Stiftskeller St. Peter; I’m sure it is fabulous. Thanks for commenting!

  4. oliviaobryon says:

    Umm, so America is not nearly as cool. Maybe that’s why my country has such a complex about being the best, hard to compete with places like that!

    • Covetotop says:

      Ed Hopper? Gershwin? National Geographic? NASA? The Maine Coast? Lobster rolls? Smithsonian? Richard Feynman? Yosemite? Hemmingway? California Missions? Harvard? Kauai? MoMA? Steve Jobs? Leonard Bernstein? Ansel Adams? The teachers of Sacramento? … Umm … No. You are not right. America is very cool! 😉

  5. trishworth says:

    I love the last photo of your resting Brompton and his shadow (her shadow?.

  6. harri8here says:

    Do you have one of those hat umbrellas? The bike looks great. Good gears?
    You have such a gift for capturing the essence of a place.

  7. Pingback: Mediterrainean Stuffed Eggplant | Stir It Up!

  8. Tyran Grillo says:

    I just posted a reflective essay (with photos) about my day trip to Salzburg. Let me know what you think: http://ecmreviews.com/2013/02/13/sounding-salzburg/

Leave a Reply

