Tamariu, white and blue

Tamariu is a little Mediterranean village located at the heart of the Costa Brava (Baix Empordà, Catalonia, Spain, Europe, Earth)

It is completely surrounded by pine-trees and sea. Take my word for granted: it has no escape. Since I was a child, I have seen this tiny village located at the very same geographical spot. Curious, isn’t it?

And what a wonderful location is that.

It is a cove.

And what a cove!

Baix Empordà

As my three or four loyal followers may well know, Covetotop needs a coffee in order to blog properly. Caffeine helps me to keep my obtuseness-rate within admissible limits. Hence …

Mediterranean coffee

Yum! The morning coffee tastes gloriously in Tamariu. Now let’s blog about it.

Tamariu’s main street is half-moon shaped because it borders the beach, which is half-moon shaped too. At night, the beach and the main street mantain the very same half-moon shape, but the Moon doesn’t, because it is a little bit crazy.

Tamariu cove

Mundane cars aren’t allowed in this charming promenade. Only traditional boats can park here.

Tamariu promenade

No discotheques. No DJs. No fast food. No luxury shops. Tamariu is simply superb.

Tamariu beach

The charming promenade has some charming restaurants facing the Mediterranean Sea.

Tamariu restaurants

It’s extremely rare to find American tourists venturing this far. Non-European travellers tend to focus their attentions on the neighboring Provence or the French Riviera. So I guess these Americans (pic below) most probably belong to the CIA, because top-notch intelligence systems are needed in order to decide to visit this region rather than our famous French neighbors. Or perhaps they are regular readers of Covetotop. Who knows? Very smart people anyway.

American tourists

This is a good place to enjoy the typical “paella”.

Paella restaurant

Fish is always fresh and delicious in Tamariu’s restaurants.

Tamariu

Seven or eight sardines grilled with a pinch of garlic and parsley, accompanied by a bottle of white Empordanese wine and happiness is guaranteed.

But drink with moderation.

If you ever cross your limits of sardine & wine consumption and you begin to see fishes everywhere … I mean, if you see fishes on the rocks …

Rascassa

… or if you see fishes on the walls …

Fish Tamariu

… perhaps the time has arrived for you to cool down your sardinistic happiness and to take a refreshing bath …

Blue Med

Refreshing baths are always at hand in Tamariu …

Tamariu little beach

There are plenty of corners around Tamariu ideally suited to refresh you …

Tamariu

Tamariu boat

Very beautiful corners …

Tamariu Mediterranean

Tamariu detail

I’m about to finish this post and Tamariu is still here, under my feet, in the very same location. Curious, isn’t it?

Mediterranean village

I know it may sound silly and puerile, but since I was a child I have a secret fear: that Tamariu one day may fly away from this hectic world and join the tranquil and magnificent Neptune’s Realm. It’s so close to it …

 

About Covetotop

A Mediterranean blogger
This entry was posted in Beaches, Towns & Villages and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tamariu, white and blue

  1. Trish says:

    Your English is really good – didn’t notice any errors. This beach looks better than the ones I saw this morning, gravelly and littered. I’m supposed to go to Spain for a few days but I’m hesitating because I don’t speak Spanish. I should be as brave as you.

  2. OMG. I want to be there.

  3. Sarah says:

    You make me laugh! 😀 What a lovely place! If I’m ever able to travel Europe again it will be places like this – I’m putting it on my list.

  4. Yummy. that place, Tamarui I mean, looks lovely and delicious. Great post, makes me want to be there,. Just back from my own holiday & from from SW France, do you remember i wrote to you, asking for recommendations? I didn’t make it to that old hilltop monastery, (although I went to some hilltop castles, in Cathar country) but I did make it to Albi. Just stunning. Have posted about it if you want to look. Best regards Covetotop. -Arran.

  5. oliviaobryon says:

    Thanks, as always, for giving my mind a little vacation with your words and photos 🙂

  6. Must be one of those “quicksand beaches”; easy to step onto, nearly impossible to leave… Great post!

Leave a Reply

