A secret disclosed: Calella (Costa Brava)

costa bravaInternet is a dangerous place. I’m very angry. I trust in my little bunch of friendly followers, but you know, from time to time one or two sporadic visitors find this blog and they get access to the top secret information it contains … and disclose it to the world.

Oh my!

I think I’m going to quit blogging.

Poor Calella! That wonderful, white and typical Mediterranean village I like so much …

It was my fault. Damned blog!

The other day I went to Calella de Palafrugell (Costa Brava, Baix Empordà, province of Girona) because I wanted to spend a nice morning swimming and stretching peacefully under the sun, but I couldn’t … Its beach was invaded by a million tourists … Why? How?

Oh my! It was my fault.

Here below you can see what I saw. Here below you can read what I heard. Here below you can see my shame. I’m so sorry!

Calella 2

Calella 3

Calella 4

Calella 5

Calella 6

Calella 7

Calella 8

Calella 9

Calella 10

Calella 11

Calella 12

Calella 13

Embarrassed and depressed, I couldn’t help running away in search of a little peace for my soul.

I climbed cliffs and walked through difficult paths …

Calella 14

Finally, I found a safe and quiet refuge to meditate … but … suddenly …

Calella 15

Oh my!

 

About Covetotop

A Mediterranean blogger
This entry was posted in Beaches, Towns & Villages and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A secret disclosed: Calella (Costa Brava)

  1. But how can we not share your blog when it is so interesting and witty! And why are there share buttons if you don’t want us to spread the word? 🙂

    • Covetotop says:

      Oh! Thank you! And … the share buttons of this blog are very sophisticated: they only appear on the screens of friendly and sensitive readers 🙂

  2. olivia says:

    You can’t quit. How else would I get to escape to such beautiful places through my computer? 😉

  3. I went and stayed in Llfranc (i think thats how you spell it!) which is the next village along, about 8 years ago. We walked the cliff path most days round to Calella and I loved the place – but it was deserted. Seems like everyone else loves it too!

    • Covetotop says:

      Llafranc is very nice, and walking just in front of the sea from one village to the other is a “must” for locals and visitors. I’m glad you enjoyed it too.

  4. Trish says:

    The weather is obviously perfect in northern Spain right now! I enjoyed walking along the coast in May when there were no swimmers or sunbathers. They are the times when the Mediterranean really is inspirational.

    • Covetotop says:

      Last spring season was exceptionally cold and rainy in this part of the world, but normally spring and autumn are the best seasons to enjoy a very “inspirational” Mediterranean. Right now is very inspirational, but very crowded too … 

  5. lolabees says:

    Hilarious! I had asked you about visiting Costa Brava on my upcoming trip to Barcelona, but I think we decided to skip it due to lack of time. This is tempting though… minus the crowds, of course.

  6. harri8here says:

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha funny, imaginative and brilliant Covetotop.

  7. I had some friends who had a cassita there in the 1970’s and we went there a few times, it was quite quiet then!

    • Covetotop says:

      I’m sorry for this huge delay about your comment! It was apparently lost in my dashboard … A casita in Calella in the 1970’s was a casita in paradise. In any case, from middle September onwards Calella will be again a tranquil and idillic Mediterranean village (more or less) 😉

  8. Covetotop, second only to Godzilla in the havoc he can wreak… 😉

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

