Salvador Dalí (Part 1): Introduction

Surrealistic building

With this post the humble Covetotop initiates a groundbreaking series of essays about the most famous son of the wonderful Empordà: Don Salvador Dalí i Domènech, Marquis of Púbol, painter, sculptor, designer, draftsman, engraver, master of surrealism, media showman, brilliant writer, hard worker, rich man, mad, not mad at all, genius, always great. He was born on May 11, 1904, in the Empordanese village of Figueres (province of Girona, Catalonia, Spain, Europe), and died in the very same village on January 23, 1989.

Firma Dalí

In order to produce a groundbreaking series of anything, a blogger must take his time, study big books, ask questions to knowledgeable people, shoot sharp and correctly balanced pictures, look for original content and, above all, think a lot about what the term “groundbreaking” means.

Surrealistic Statue by Dalí in Figueres

Notwithstanding the above, I am aware that my groundbreaking series of posts about Salvador Dalí faces some serious physical and metaphysical obstacles. Among those are the following:

1.- Dalí is one of the most famous figures of the 20th century art. Hence, there are tons of info easily available about his life and works everywhere. As an art lover, I myself own some kilograms of said information, in the form of books, magazines, exhibit brochures and even dvds. Trying to summarize here, in English, all that info would be a traumatizing experience for me. Reading my summarized posts would be a deathly boring experience for you. And both of us want to have some fun with this blog, don´t we? I cannot summarize anything.

2.- There are works of Dalí in the most important museums of modern art all around the world. If you want to experience the Dalinianan madness, you only have to visit a good museum, physically or virtually (e.g: the MoMA and the MET of New York, or any of their temporal exhibits) My little blog cannot compete with those outstanding and powerful institutions, of course. Moreover, there are entire museums devoted exclusively to Dalí (e.g: Dalí ParisDalí Berlin, Dalí Florida).

Berlin, Germany

3.- “Where, if not in my own town, should the most extravagant and solid of my work endure, where if not here? The Municipal Theatre, or what remained of it, struck me as very appropriate, and for three reasons: first, because I am an eminently theatrical painter; second, because the theatre stands right opposite the church where I was baptized; and third, because it was precisely in the hall of the vestibule of the theatre where I gave my first exhibition of painting.” (Salvador Dalí, on the Dalí Theater-Museum of Figueres). The Dalí Theater-Museum of Figueres (Alt Empordà),  the best Dalí Museum of the world, is located at an easy reach of Covetotop’s headquarters. If so, what’s the problem concerning my outstanding series of posts about Dalí? What’s the problem about posting dozens of pics taken inside this awesome museum or inside any other house of the so-called “Dalí’s Triangle” in the wonderful Empordà? It is a legal warning. This one: “Public communication of the images taken inside the Dalí museums needs an authorization and rights clearance.” Ok. That means I cannot post interior views.

Teather-Museum Dalí Figueres

4.- Last spring/summer, the Reina Sofía Museum of Madrid displayed the biggest exhibit ever made about Dalí. I assisted to that exhibit. Usually, the Reina Sofía allows visitors to take pictures of their huge collection (excluding the Pablo Picasso’s absolute masterpiece: Guernica). Nevertheless, at the Dalí exhibition, taking pictures was forbidden. Ok. It means that I have no pictures from said exhibit, apart from this one:

Dalí Madrid

By the way, you can make a virtual visit to that outstanding exhibition by clicking this link and viewing the documentary it contains (10 minutes long, just images, no words)

5.- I am not an art expert. I am just an “aficionado”. Aficionados do not produce groundbreaking things about Dalí nor about anything related to art.

Self-portrait at the Dalí Museum in FIgueres

So, taking into account all those serious impediments … What the hell am I doing pretending to initiate a groundbreaking series of posts about Don Salvador Dalí i Domènech, first Marquis of Púbol?

Let’s think positively.

I do not want to quit this groundbreaking series at the very first post.

What can I count on?

Let’s see …

I can count on my feet …

Sculpure by Dalí in Figueres

I can count on my espadrilles

espardinyes

I can count on the priceless advice of some local Dalí’s friends …

Dalí's friend in Costa Brava

And, above all, I can count on the Empordà, the magic land that ignited the groundbreaking art of Salvador Dalí …

Dalí Cap de Creus

With all those outstanding tools, I think I can start writing my groundbreaking series of posts about that surrealistic genius named Salvador Dalí …

Stay tuned.

Coming soon: … (to be sincere, I have no idea about what comes next)

 

About Covetotop

A Mediterranean blogger
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Salvador Dalí (Part 1): Introduction

  1. Trish says:

    I visited the Museu in Figueres (unfortunately at the same time as hundreds of adolescents on a school excursion) and took several photos. Like you, I was going to put them on a blog post until I read the warning on the web site. It’s a shame. Why allow photos to be taken in the museum if you can’t show them to the world? Figueres was a nice place to be (after I left the museum and its crowds). We had lunch in a small café around the corner. Then we went to Dali’s house – more crowds, so we didn’t go in, but I took photos of some Dali sculptures outside, like the tree growing out of a boat.

    • Covetotop says:

      The Dalí Theatre-Museum in Figueres is a little museum in size, but it is also one of the most visited in Spain. If I’m not wrong, 1.000.000 visitors per year. If you add hundreds of adolescents on a school excursion, the Dalinianan surrealist dreams become nightmares. As far as pictures are concerned, the Gala-Dalí Foundation (managers of this museum) holds the copy rights of the paintings, drafts and sculptures shown in the museum, and they forbid their public communication. But at this regard (i.e. publishing our own pics in our own blogs), I’m glad to inform you that we’ll have no problem: taking into account that according to the Spanish law, copy rights endure for a term of 70 years after the author’s death, we’ll be free to publish them upon expiration of said 70 years term (Dalí died in 1989 …) 😉

      • Trish says:

        Well I won’t live that long. I’ll have to take photos of artworks by artists who’ve been dead much longer. At least there are sculptures outdoors that we can capture, like those outside Dali’s house. I wonder if there’s a ban on publishing images of them.

      • Covetotop says:

        Taking into account how our world behaves lately, by the year 2059 most probaby there would be nobody interested in art on this planet ;-). Until then, you can publish any pic taken outdoors, in public spaces, like the one you mention of the crazy cypress within a boat located just in front of Dalís’ house in Port-Lligat. As far as modern artists’ paintings are concerned -including Dalí’s-, in my personal opinion if you use your own photos in very special conditions -i.e., a photo of a famous painting, at an extremelly low resolution, in good faith, with no commercial interest, just as a simple reference within an article, with no damages for the author nor for his copy right’s holders, for investigation or educational purposes, and the painting (other pics of it) is easily available everywhere in the Internet- I think that getting involved in that sort of problems is quite unfeasable (or quite unreasonable). Oh my! This is not a legal opinion, it is just a simple blogger’s opinion 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    Whatever it is, I look forward to it. 🙂

  3. harri8here says:

    Well chosen/taken images to illustrate this thought provoking post, C2T … even a sneaky reflected self-portrait :-).

    I’d like to see you recreate one of your favourite Dali paintings with a kind of collage of your photographs and quirky words.

    My heart skipped a beat or two when i saw Muchacha en la ventana at the Rena Sofia last October.

  4. As an aficionado you may not be an expert, but you can certainly infuse deep passion into all you touch. Great post, Covetotop!

  5. Pingback: Il disegno è la… | WE BLOG !

Leave a Reply

