Goya was born in Fuendetodos

Goya plaque in Fuendetodos

To be precise, Goya was born in this humble house:

Goya's house 1

Francisco de Goya y Lucientes chose Fuendetodos as his birthplace when he decided to descend from Heaven to this horrible world of ours. It was March 30, 1746 …

Fuendetodos is a little village located in the province of Zaragoza, Spain.

Fuendetodos Aragón

Fuendetodos has roughly 170 inhabitants. I did not see any of them (almost) when I took these pictures.

Goya Street

Pic above: Goya Street, in Fuendetodos.

Pic below: Goya Square, in Fuendetodos.

Goya Square Fuendetodos

Pic below: monument to Goya, in Fuendetodos

Monument to Goya

As you can see, Fuendetodinians are very proud of his fellow countryman Francisco de Goya.

Horno Goyesco in Fuendetodos

Not only Fuendetodinians are proud of Goya. Zaragozanians (Zaragoza is the capital of the province where Fuendetodos is located) are very proud of Goya too.

Goya in Zaragoza

In the pic below you can see the monument to Goya; it is located at the wonderful El Pilar Square, Zaragoza:

El Pilar Square indications

Can’t you see it? Well, I’ll amplify it for you:

Francisco de Goya, Zaragoza

I blogged about Zaragoza two months ago (see Covetotop’s “Zaragoza” post). When I was taking pics for said post, I met this kind girl …

Goyesca in Zaragoza

We became friends… That’s the inspiring part of blogging.

The uninspiring part of blogging is the so-called “stats page”. Although I blog for the joy of blogging -and for the joy of my little bunch of loyal and lovely readers-, the other day I couldn’t help taking a look at that damned “stats page” of WordPress, and … what did I find there?

Depressing figures …

Yes. Depressing figures. I put a lot of work in my last and loooong post about the Cathar Country and the Holy Grail, but apparently nobody –except my little bunch of loyal and lovely readers- read it.

I am aware that my loyal and lovely and intelligent readers are always looking forward to reading my new posts …

… but I must admit that the rest of net-surfers of the world prefer to spend their time reading other stuff on their tablets …

Blogging is always difficult. Writing in English can be a nightmare for a Mediterranean guy like me (Latin rules) … That means spending hours sat at the table, gazing into infinity, trying to figure out if an error is done or made, and things like that …

Moreover, any interesting post requires an important amount of previous investigation …

But those interested in Goya, or in the history of Art, will find better sources to quench their thirst of knowledge in websites like the Goya webpage in El Prado Museum, or the Daydream Tourist, etc.

No. I can’t make it …

No matter the effort I put in my humble blog, the “stats page” will strike back with its horrible figures. It will devour my hopes just like Saturn devours his children …

This post is done.

PS: I’m kidding. Coming soon –or late-: “Goya in Madrid”.

About Covetotop

A Mediterranean blogger
This entry was posted in Art, Towns & Villages and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Goya was born in Fuendetodos

  1. Christina says:

    I always look forward to reading your posts! 🙂 You need to give yourself more credit for your writing; your blog has an incredible voice. People don’t often google “Blog with great pictures of Spain and a funny writer” or else your stats page would break it would be so busy!

    Thanks for the mention. That’s very kind of you! An thanks for the visit to Goya’s home. He definitely came from humble beginnings to end up as the royal court painter. Looking forward to hearing more about Goya….

    • Covetotop says:

      If such an Art expert like you enjoy reading my blog, then the “stats page” can go to hell. Thank you, maestra, for your comment and for your superb blog! 🙂

  2. Trish says:

    When I saw Goya in the title, I knew that Saturn would be devouring his children somewhere in the post. Thanks for putting it last… I liked the painting of you and your girlfriend having a nice time in the countryside. It looks like there is a second girl hanging on to the waist of the first girl. Bizarre. But when I look more carefully I see it’s a white apron on which a small black dog is sleeping! I’m glad you write all this stuff about art and history and Spain and France – I love reading it. I know what you mean about the time it takes to write a post about something factual. It takes me hours and I get about ten (or less) likes, most of the time. I have to tell you that practising your writing in English on this blog is not a waste of time – your English has improved greatly since I first started reading it a couple of years ago. In fact, I write a blog to improve my own English!

    • Covetotop says:

      Sooner or later Saturn will devour all of us … In the meanwhile, blogging is an entertaining way of losing one’s time. To be sincere, the evil “stats page” was a mere excuse to include some paintings by Goya in this post. I like blogging, and it is certainly a good way to practice a foreign language (at the cost of my loyal readers’ patience, because I guess that I make a lot of grammatical mistakes in each post). Thank you for your patience, Trish, and for your very kind –as always- words (words in perfect, poetic English; I don’t believe that you need to improve your English … or your French) 😉

      • Trish says:

        You haven’t heard or read my French. It definitely needs improving because I have no French people to practise with. Perhaps I should start a blog in French as you have done in English. Muchas gracias for reading my stuff.

  3. We both know the stats page is overrated, Covetotop.

    Goya is THE ONLY 18th century painter who I respect and love. Too much pastel colors and ungainly fluff in everyone else’s work. My single favorite piece by Goya is at the Prado in Madrid; it’s not even a painting (although it must be said that his paintings of the witches are dark and wonderful) is a preliminary oil sketch. I can’t remember what the theme is exactly but it’s sitting in a corner of the main Goya room in the museum and it’s completely overlooked. What is so amazing about it is that his style of sketching seems to anticipate the frantic brushwork and coagulated geometry of a young Paul Cezanne. I think Goya invented impressionism without realizing it!

    • Covetotop says:

      I totally agree with you about the stats page: the important fact is the quality of your readers, not the quantity. At this regard, I am very successful 🙂

      Goya is one of my favorite painters of all time; he was an artist ahead of his time. Not only impressionism … romanticism, expressionism and surrealism owe a lot to Francisco de Goya’s crazy creativity. I don’t know what painting are you talking about, but most probably it is one of his “black paintings”, or perhaps the astonishing draft of “El prendimiento de Cristo”. The latter was a preparatory and wonderful, almost impressionistic, sketch of a major work located at the Cathedral of Toledo (which you know well). Thanks for your wise comment, caminante!

  4. Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa I missed that post…why, I do not know.
    When I was in Spain this autumn Microsoft and Google thought I had stolen my own laptop…so access was limited. Since my return to Costa Rica there are sites that don’t appear in my reader – probably because Microsoft and Google don’t believe that the thief came to Costa Rica in my luggage…

    You have all my sympathy with the effort of translation….I am doing the same in reverse with in the legal sphere at the moment….talk about tearing out of hair!

    But I’m very glad I caught this post!

    My father, who fought in the Civil War, taught me a lot about Spanish history and culture….and the strange stasis of fission and fusion both exemplify.
    My stats are quite dreary too…..but the people who comment make writing a post worthwhile.

  5. aferreira says:

    Besides the fantastic paintings, the sights of Fuendetodos and Zaragoza (lovely details and close views), I absolutely love Goya’s house and notebook! And surely would very much like to taste a Tarta or Torta Goyesca! 🙂

    That damned “stats page” of WordPress is depressing, yes (not accurate, confusing, etc.), I think we can’t rely on it at all… I myself don’t pay much attention to it anymore.

    One thing is certain: Covetotop’s readers are always looking forward to reading his new posts 😉 They very much appreciate the time spent, the amount of investigation, the sharing of original – interesting – difficult to access content, and also the attention in replying to comments, in visiting and commenting and liking back…

    • Covetotop says:

      Thanks for your kind comment, Ana. I find commenting (and answering comments) even more difficult than writing a post. Moreover, I am afraid that most of the times I pretend to be funny, in good faith, when I comment, but the result is losing digital friends. Subtleties in English are beyond my reach and I tend to mess it up. So, I don’t comment very often. Neither I put likes here and there … I read, and enjoy other people’s blogs, and if I feel really confident, then I “like” and I even “comment” (hoping not to put my feet in it). Otherwise, I am a silent reader 😉

  6. Aggie says:

    Goya’s Kronos is so brutish. As if he didn’t want to recognize the intelligence driving the wanton annihilation of life… Love the kitchen stove. Another blockbuster for your devoted fans.

  7. Aquila says:

    Well bother those people who haven’t read your blog, Covetotop. It’s a wonderful blog, your English is great because the turns of phrase are unique to you and it gives you a special voice. Always interesting subjects, great pictures. It’s like a visit with a friend to see places you haven’t been and learn something you didn’t know. I don’t have a grand following either, but for me, I just enjoy knowing someone read something I wrote and maybe enjoyed it. All the best.

    • Covetotop says:

      Thank you very much for your kind comment, Aquila. Blogging is certainly rewarding when you make digital friends that sincerely enjoy reading your stuff. Don’t unplug from the Internet –no matter all the spiffy “upgrades” and “improvements”- 😉

      • Aquila says:

        I probably won’t unplug, but this crazy business of have-to-got-to-make-it-new-and-shiny-and-supposedly-better is absolutely maddening. I don’t think I’d like not visiting my digital friends either, they’ve all enriched my life with their words, images and thoughts. Hope you have a wonderful holiday season and happy healthy new year.

      • Covetotop says:

        I totally agree with you (“…have-to-got-to-make-it-new-and-shiny …) 🙂

        Thanks, same to you!

  8. Sarah says:

    Don’t worry, my stats page looks just as terrible. 🙂 I assume it’s because it’s December and most people are in a flurry of busyness over Christmas. Love the little house. Very creative and entertaining post, Covetotop! Blog readers just don’t know what they are missing out on!

  9. harri8here says:

    Ooh I love the tiles, floors and walls of Goya’s home.
    The colours and detailing of his paintings are exquisite.

    My stats pages are incredibly faint however much i adjust the brightness of my monitor … I must call a plumber to help with the flow. However, the truth -in my case- is that I’m an erratic blogger with only a pinprick of your talent. Your Stats pages should be heaving with tourists but i suspect the irony is … for that to happen you would have to be leaving your virtual fingerprints all over sites visited by those other net-surfers. And that would take tons of time. Suffice to say, you must know by now how much I (and billions of others) admire the way you juggle knowledge, image and humour … and all in English.

    I’m trying to adjust my settings so I am notified of comments but particularly, of your posts.

    Catching up with your adventures has been such a treat, Santa Claus has done well :-).

    Happy Christmas, C2T.

    HR8

    • Covetotop says:

      Thank you very much for your comments, HR8, they are another gift of Santa Claus for me (sorry for my delay in replying to you, but I haven’t checked my webmail/blog for a loooong while, and now I find here your wonderful comments). I am an erratic blogger too, and break happily each and every of the socalled “10 tips to increase blog traffic”.

      A pinprick of my talent? Good joke! I needed three hours to draft (in MS Word, and then cut and paste in WordPress) all my replies to your lovely comments, and yet I was still uncapable to produce anything really passable for your Highness. The subtleness and craftmanship that your comments deserve are beyond my reach in English (and in any other language).

      Thank you again, HR8

  10. Amazing, instructive and, as ever, passionate. And – cherry on the cake, if you’ll pass the expression – you closed it with the one Goya masterpiece that most struck me in high school art history class, oh, so many years ago now.

    • Covetotop says:

      Grazie mille, Alessandro, and sorry for my delay in replying to you, but I haven’t checked my webmail/blog for a long time. The cherry on the cake is certainly a lovely image of a family lunch (father and sons) 🙂

Leave a Reply

